top of page

Our Learning 

Our Curriculum

St Joseph's Catholic School follows the New Zealand Curriculum (NZC). The NZC is based on 5 key competencies: thinking, managing self, participating and contributing, relating to others, and understanding language, text and symbols. People use these competencies to live, learn, work and contribute as active members of their local and global communities. 

More complex than skills, the competencies draw on knowledge, attitudes, and values in ways that lead to action. They are not separate or stand-alone. They are the key to learning in every NZC learning area. 

 There are 9 learning areas in Years 0 – 8: 


  •  English 

  •  Mathematics and Statistics 

  •  The Arts 

  •  Health and Physical Education 

  •  Learning Languages 

  •  Science 

  •  Social Sciences 

  •  Technology and the Digital Curriculum 


Our students use inquiry learning strategies to make meaningful connections to the world around them. 


Class Learning Programmes

Individual class teachers design learning programmes based on the NZC and their professional overall teacher judgements on the individual needs of the learners in their class. For this reason, learning programmes will often look and feel different in different classrooms.

What you will see in each class: 


  •  Welcoming learning environments 

  •  Examples of student learning 

  •  Class, group or individual teaching and learning situations 

  •  Students discussing and critiquing their learning (learner agency) 

  •  Ongoing assessment and evaluation of learning 

  •  A range of digital and traditional learning resources

bottom of page